Iain Banks’ Culture Series Galaxy

Our sixth session in year two of the series focuses on selected novels from Iain M. Banks’ Culture series, which begins with Consider Phlebas in 1987 and finishes with The Hydrogen Sonata in 2012.  Our discussion will focus particularly on the first two novels Consider Phlebas and The Player of Games, but may also touch on the other works.  We will be discussing the narrative world he created in that series, and selected main philosophical themes featured in those works.

I’ll post the video-recording of the talk and the handouts provided here the week after the talk, which will take place on Thursday, June 8, 7:00 PM at the Brookfield Public Library.

The philosophical themes I plan to focus upon during the talk are:

  • Post-scarcity society and technology
  • Genetic enhancement and the human condition
  • AI Minds and human agents
  • Politics of the Culture
  • The need for the Contact group
  • Games and the reality they govern

The Culture Series

For those who would like to purchase or otherwise acquire the books, here are some Amazon links to them (links coming soon).

  • Consider Phlebas (1987)
  • The Player of Games (1988)
  • Use of Weapons (1990)
  • Excession (1996)
  • Inversions (1998)
  • Look to Windward (2000)
  • Matter (2008).
  • Surface Detail (2010)
  • Hydrogen Sonata (20120

Links and Resources of Interest

%d bloggers like this: